Organized by:



University of Catania



Center for MAterials and Technologies for Information and communication Science



ST Microelectronics



CNR-IMM



Faculty of Science



Catania Ricerche

Chairpersons:

Francesco Priolo

Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
University of Catania &
CNR-INFM MATIS, Catania (Italy)
Salvo Coffa

ST Microelectronics, Catania (Italy)

Maria Grazia Grimaldi

Dept. of Physics and Astronomy University of Catania & CNR-INFM MATIS, Catania (Italy)

Corrado Spinella

CNR-IMM, Catania (Italy)

Important dates:

September, 2005

First announcement

February 27, 2006

Lodging reservation opens

February 27, 2006

Early registration opens

April 14, 2006

Abstract deadline

May 19, 2006

Abstracts acceptance notification

May 19, 2006

Preliminary program

May 26, 2006

Lodging reservation deadline

June 30, 2006

Early-registration deadline

September 8, 2006

Proceedings paper submission deadline

15th International Conference on

Ion Beam Modification of Materials





www.ibmm.it

Contact:

info@ibmm.it

Taormina, Italy

18-22 September, 2006

Conference objectives:

IBMM 2006 will be the 15th conference in an international series, which began in Budapest, Hungary, in 1978. The conference is held every other year, and it is the major international forum to present and discuss recent research results and future directions in the field of ion beam modification, synthesis and characterization of materials. The conference brings together physicists, materials scientists, ion beam specialists and those who are interested in the practical application of ion beams from all over the world. The focus of the conference is on the materials science, involving both basic ion-solid interaction processes and property changes occurring either during or subsequent to ion bombardment and ion beam processing in relation to materials and device application.

Topics:

- Fundamentals of ion-solid interactions, modeling, simulation and theory.
- Ion beam processing of semiconductors, metals, ceramics and polymers.
- Application of ion beams to electronic, magnetic and optical materials and devices.
- Processing and synthesis with cluster ion beams.
- Plasma immersion ion implantation for surface modification and surface coating.
- Novel ion beam processing and applications.
 Manipulation and control of materials in nanometer scale, synthesis and modifications of biomaterials and novel materials, etc.

A focused session on ion beam processing for nano fabrication will be organized.

Proceedings:

Following the tradition of IBMM Conferences, the Proceedings of IBMM 2006 will be published by Elsevier as a special issue of *Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research B*.

Venue

IBMM 2006 will be held in Taormina. Taormina is located on the east coast of Sicily, in the south of Italy. Settled on a hill of the Monte Tauro, Taormina dominates two grand bays, below Mount Etna, the highest active European volcano. Taormina offers to the tourists a marvellous coast, among the most beautiful and famous in the world. In the sea the Isola Bella, today Natural Reserve, increases the charm of the Taormina's coast. Within the town of Taormina it is possible to find a real mixture of monuments belonging to different archaeological periods. To the Greek-Roman period belongs the Ancient Theater that it is not only a piece of the archaeological patrimony in Taormina, but it is also a place of incomparable panoramic beauty. IBMM 2006 will be held at San Domenico Palace Hotel, one of the most famous hotels in Italy. Even the air of the San Domenico Hotel is redolent with the unique history of the surroundings.



Built around a monastery dating from the year 1400, with the original structure still intact, it is surrounded by a garden filled all year round with flowers of rare beauty.

International Committee:

Members

H.H. Andersen. Denmark I.C. Barbour, USA M. Behar, Brazil *H. Bernas*. France R. Elliman. Australia K. Gamo, Japan N. Gerasimenko, Russia M. Iwaki, Japan I.W. Mayer, USA W. Möller, Germany M.A. Nastasi, USA A. Polman. The Netherlands *F. Priolo.* Italy S. Roorda, Canada B. Sealy, UK A. Vantomme, Belgium Xi Wang, China I. Yamada, Japan

Honorary members

W.L. Brown, USA G.W. Carter, UK W.K. Chu, USA I. Davies. Canada A. Golanski. France J. Gyulai, Hungary T. Itoh, Japan T.E. Jackman, Canada I. Kelly, Australia O. Mever, Germany S. Namba, Japan S.T. Picraux, USA E. Rimini. Italy F.W. Saris, The Netherlands **B. Stritzker**, Germany P.D. Townsend, UK V. Vavilov, Russia C.W. White, USA Shichang Zou, China

Program Committee:

Eric Chason – Brown University, Providence (USA) *Luciano Colombo* – University of Cagliari (Italy)

Giorgio Lulli – CNR–IMM, Bologna (Italy)

Jiro Matsuo - Kyoto University (Japan)

Kai Nordlund – University of Helsinki (Finland)

Lynn E. Rehn – Argonne National Laboratory (USA)

Wolfgang Skorupa – FZ–Rossendorf (Germany)

Bengt G. Svensson – University of Oslo (Norway)

Christina Trautmann – GSI Darmstadt (Germany)

James S. Williams – ANU, Canberra (Australia)